

The 3rd Asia-Pacific Water Summit (3rd APWS)

11-12 December 2017

Venue: Sedona Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Theme: Water Security for Sustainable Development

10 December 2017

19:00 -	Dinner hosted by APWF (invitees only)
•	

Day 1 (11 Dec	cember 2017)				
07:00 - 09:30	Registration				
09:40 - 09:50	Opening: Video				
09:50 – 10:25	Opening and Welcoming Remarks - H.E. Daw Aung San Suu Kyi, State Counsellor, the Republic of the Union of Myanmar				
	Opening Remarks - H.E. Mr. Baron Waqa, President of the Republic of Nauru				
	Opening Remarks - Mr. Yoshinori Imai, (on behalf of H.E. Mr		dent of the APWF)	Frand Ballroom (Level 1)	
10:25 – 10:45	Photo Session			mand Banroom (Ecver 1)	
10:45 – 10:55	Break				
10:55 – 12:00	Keynote address - H.E. U Henry Van Thio, Vice President of the Republic of the Union of Myanmar, Chair of National Water Resources Committee (NWRC) and of the National Disaster Management Committee (NDMC)				
	Statement of the Ministers of the Asia-Pacific Region - H.E. Mr. José Ramos-Horta, Senior Minister and National Security Advisor, Former President of the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste - H.E. Mr. Lim Kean Hor, Minister of Water Resources and Meteorology, Cambodia - H.E. Hardeep Singh Puri, Minister of State and Housing and Urban Affairs, India - H.E. Mr. Keiichi Ishii, Minister of Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism, Japan - H.E. Mr. Sommad Pholsena, Minister of Natural Resources and Environment, Lao People's Democratic Republic - H.E. Dr. Maximus Johnity Ongkili, Minister of Energy Green Technology and Water, Malaysia - H.E. General Surasak Karnjanarat, Minister of Natural Resources and Environment Thailand - H.E. Mr. Suhaimi Gafar, Acting Minister of Development, Brunei Darussalam				
			-	Frand Ballroom (Level 1)	
12:00 - 13:30	Lunch				
13:30 - 15:00		4 Parallel T	hematic Sessions		
	Reviving	Governance for	Better Governance:	Water and Disasters in	
	Hydrological Cycles:	Sustainable Urban	Inclusive Approach	the Context of Climate	
	Rainwater Harvesting	Water Supply	through good	Change: From the	
	and Sustainable	(JICA)	practices on water	Mountains to the Islands	
	Groundwater		governance and	(ICHARM / ICIMOD /	
	Management		IWRM	SPC / HELP)	
	(ICIMOD, MLIT		(NARBO/UNESCO)		
	(Japan)				
	Grand Ballroom 2	Grand Ballroom 1	Grand Ballroom 3	Mindon	
	(Level 1)	(Level 1)	(Level 1)	(Level 2)	



15:00 - 15:30	Coffee Break			
15:30 - 17:00	4 Parallel Thematic Sessions			
	Water-Energy-Food-	Improving	Roles of Women and	(continued)
	Ecosystems	Sanitation and	Youth in Water	Water and Disasters in
	(FAO /	Wastewater	Security and SDGs	the Context of Climate
	MAFF(Japan))	Management	(Water Mothers	Change:
	_	(JSC / MLIT /	Myanmar, IWMI,	From the Mountains to
		MOEJ)	Citizens Process of	the Islands
			World Water Forum 8,	(ICHARM / ICIMOD /
			GWP, WYPW Asia	SPC / HELP)
			Chapter)	
	Grand Ballroom 3	Grand Ballroom 1	Grand Ballroom 2	Mindon
	(Level 1)	(Level 1)	(Level 1)	(Level 2)
19:00 -	Welcome Reception			



Day 2 (12 December)

Day 2 (12 Deco	ember)				
08:30 - 09:00	Registration				
09:00 - 11: 00	3 Parallel Thematic Session				
	Financing the Working Together: Source-to-Sea Opportunities				
	Implementation of the Multi-Stakeholders Partnership in the Asia-Pacific Region				
	Water-Related SDGs for Regional Cooperation (S2S Platform / FAO)				
	(ESCAP) (GWP / ICIMOD) Grand Ballman (Lavel 2) Inva Boom (Lavel 11)				
11:00 - 11:30	Grand Ballroom(Level 1) Mindon (Level 2) Inya Room (Level 11) Coffee Break				
11:30 - 13:00	Leaders Statements toward Water Security for Sustainable Development				
11.30 - 13.00	,				
	Welcome Address and Statement				
	- H.E. U Thant Sin Maung , Union Minister of Transport and Communications of the Republic of the Union of Myanmar				
	- H.E. U Phyo Min Thein, Chief Minister of Yangon Regional Government of the Republic				
	of the Union of Myanmar				
	•				
	Statements of the Heads of Delegation from the Asia and Pacific countries [Moderator: Prof. Simon Toy. Vice Chair of the ABWE Coverning Council]				
	[Moderator: Prof. Simon Tay, Vice Chair of the APWF Governing Council] - Dr. Swarnim Wagle , Vice Chair of National Planning Commission, Nepal				
	- Dr. Amy Khor , Senior Minister of the Environment and Water Resources, Singapore				
	- Mr. Paula Ma'u, Chief Executive Officer, Ministry of Meteorology, Energy, Information,				
	Disaster Management, Climate Change and Communications, Tonga				
	- Mr. Ngoc Linh Nguyen, Deputy Minister of Natural Resources and Environment,				
	Vietnam				
	- Mr. Park Jaeheyon, Assistant Minister of Land, Infrastructure and Transport, Republic of				
	Korea				
	- H.E. Mr. Nicholas Coppel, Ambassador of Australia to Myanmar				
	- H.E. Dr. Ito Sumard, Ambassador of Indonesia to Myanmar				
	- H.E. Mr. Daniel Zonshine, Ambassador of Israel to Myanmar				
	- H.E. Mr. Kapunan Eco Eduardo, Ambassador of the Philippines to Myanmar				
	- Mr. Zhiguang Liu, Director-General, International Cooperation, Science & Technology				
	Dept. of the Ministry of Water Resources Ministry of Water Resources, China. - Mr. Michael John Mangawai, Department of Water, Acting Director General, Vanuatu				
	- Ms. Tenzin Wangmo, Chief Environment Officer, National Environment Commission,				
	Bhutan				
	- Mr. Timur Kydyrmyshev, Second Secretary of Department for Analysis and				
	Coordination of Foreign Policy of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Kyrgyz Republic				
	- Dr. Nick Scholfield , Chief Executive Officer, Australia Water Partnership				
	- Dr. Toshio Koike , Director, International Centre for Water Hazard and Risk Management				
	(ICHARM), Public Works Research Institute (PWRI)				
	- Dr. David Molden , Director-General, International Centre for Integrated Mountain				
	Development (ICIMOD)				
	- Dr. Claudia Sadoff, Executive Director of International Water Management Institute				
	(IWMI)				
	- Ms. Lusia Sefo Leau, Chief Executive Officer, Pacific Water and Wastewater Association				
	(PWWA) - Mr. Tom Panella, Chief of Water Sector Group, Sustainable Development and Climate				
	Change Department, Asian Development Bank (ADB)				
	- Mr. Clausen Joench Torkil, Governor, World Water Council (on behalf of the President				
	of World Water Council)				
	Wrap-up: Prof. Simon Tay, Vice Chair of the APWF Governing Council				
	Grand Ballroom (Level 1)				
	Orang Daniooni (Level 1)				



13:00 - 14:00	Lunch
14:00 - 16:00	Recap of discussions in the 3rd APWS
	➤ Summary of Parallel Thematic Sessions
	[Chair: Ms. Changhua Wu, Vice Chair of the APWF Governing Council]
	Closing Plenary
	➤ Adoption of the Yangon Declaration
	[Co-chairs: H.E. U Thant Sin Maung,
	Mr. Ravi Narayanan, APWF Governing Council Chair]
	➤ Closing Remarks
	- Dr. Kotaro Takemura, Chair of the Joint Steering Committee for the 3 rd APWS, Secretary-General of Japan Water Forum as the APWF Secretariat
	- H.E. U Thant Sin Maung
	Grand Ballroom (Level 1)
19:00 -	Farewell Cocktail