• contact
  • contact


Announcement of the new date of the 4th APWS

4th Asia-Pacific Water Summit, Kumamoto, Japan 2022

The 4th Asia-Pacific Water Summit (4th APWS) will be held in Kumamoto City, Japan, in which high-level delegates including heads of states and representatives from international organizations in the Asia-Pacific region will discuss various water-related issues.

The 4th APWS will also share with the world the long-standing efforts of the host city, Kumamoto, in conserving groundwater as well as its recovering efforts from the 2016 Kumamoto Earthquakes.

The 3rd APWS in 2017 adopted the Yangon Declaration to show the direction of sustainable development with a perspective on water.

Under the theme of “Water for Sustainable Development –Best Practices and the Next Generation-“, the outcomes of the 4th APWS discussions on how to implement the recommendations given in the Yangon Declaration are expected to make a great contribution to lead the achievement of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).


Date Saturday 23rd and 24th April, 2022
Venue Kumamoto Jo Hall (Sakuramachi, Chuo-ku, Kumamoto City, Kumamoto, Japan) 


Organizers Kumamoto City of Japan and Asia-Pacific Water Forum (APWF)

Overarching Theme

Water for Sustainable Development -Best Practices and the Next Generation-

Concept of the Official Logo

On the Earth we live in, there is a dynamic water cycle from the atmosphere through the ground, rivers, etc. to oceans, and what we implement to solve water issues would be likely to affect other regions, environments and economies. In addressing the water issues, it is important that people from various regions and stakeholders work together while considering the sound water cycle.
This logo represents the attitude of the entire Asia-Pacific region towards solving the water issues by recognizing water from a large perspective of the water cycle.
The outer ring expresses a broad view of water circulation, rotating in a counterclockwise direction from the right side, in which water vapors, condenses into water droplets, falls as rain on the ground, and transforms into rivers, lakes, groundwater and the like to moisten the earth.

Expected Participating Countries

49 countries of Asia and the Pacific, including the host country (i.e. Japan): Azerbaijan, Afghanistan, Armenia, Israel, Iran, Indonesia, India, Uzbekistan, Australia, Kazakhstan, Cambodia, Kyrgyz, Samoa, Georgia, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Korea, Tajikistan, China, Turkmenistan, Tonga, New Zealand, Nepal, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Palau, Bangladesh, Timor-Leste, Fiji, Philippines, Bhutan, Brunei Darussalam, Viet Nam, Marshall Islands, Malaysia, Micronesia, Myanmar, Maldives, Mongolia, Lao PDR, Solomon Islands, Tuvalu, Kiribati, Nauru, Niue, Vanuatu, Cook Islands, and Japan

Official Language for the Summit

Japanese and English


Sub menu