• contact




Click here for a new official website!

Kumamoto Declaration

4th Asia-Pacific Water Summit, Kumamoto, Japan 2022

The 4th Asia-Pacific Water Summit (4th APWS) will be held in Kumamoto City, Japan, in which high-level delegates including heads of states and representatives from international organizations in the Asia-Pacific region will discuss various water-related issues.

The 4th APWS will also share with the world the long-standing efforts of the host city, Kumamoto, in conserving groundwater as well as its recovering efforts from the 2016 Kumamoto Earthquakes.

The 3rd APWS in 2017 adopted the Yangon Declaration to show the direction of sustainable development with a perspective on water.

Under the theme of “Water for Sustainable Development –Best Practices and the Next Generation-“, the outcomes of the 4th APWS discussions on how to implement the recommendations given in the Yangon Declaration are expected to make a great contribution to lead the achievement of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).


Date 23-24 April, 2022
Venue Kumamoto Jo Hall (Sakuramachi, Chuo-ku, Kumamoto City, Kumamoto, Japan)
About Kumamoto City 
Organizers Kumamoto City of Japan and Asia-Pacific Water Forum (APWF)

Overarching Theme

Water for Sustainable Development -Best Practices and the Next Generation-


Program Book

Official Language for the Summit

Japanese and English

Official Video



COVID-19 Measures

Request for Cooperation concerning COVID-19 Measures

Chair’s Summary

Chair Summary

Showcases and Roadmaps

Collections of 4thAPWS Showcases and Roadmaps

Official Photos

  • Day 1 
  • Day 2
    ※All Photos credit to Japan Water Forum

(Reference) Kumamoto Initiative (Japanese Government’s Initiative)


Location of Kumamoto

                                            Souce:Kumamoto city

   (Click on the image to see a larger version.)

More Detail

Overview of the 4th APWS »Download(PDF)

Structure of the Summit

(Click on the image to see a larger version.)

Expected Participating Countries

Asia and the Pacific, including the host country (i.e. Japan): Azerbaijan, Afghanistan, Armenia, Israel, Iran, Indonesia, India, Uzbekistan, Australia, Kazakhstan, Cambodia, Kyrgyz, Samoa, Georgia, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Korea, Tajikistan, China, Turkmenistan, Tonga, New Zealand, Nepal, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Palau, Bangladesh, Timor-Leste, Fiji, Philippines, Bhutan, Brunei Darussalam, Viet Nam, Marshall Islands, Malaysia, Micronesia, Myanmar, Maldives, Mongolia, Lao PDR, Solomon Islands, Tuvalu, Kiribati, Nauru, Niue, Vanuatu, Cook Islands, and Japan

Related Project

Click here for the Youth Water Forum website.


Sub menu